Loneliness replaced by a crowd – tomorrow night

I just read Psalm 142 which was written by David when he was in the cave (clearly not a comfortable providence).

He describes his troubles saying: “A place to flee to has perished from me; no one is concerned for me.”

He is alone in his troubles – but recognizing that God will deliver him … he sees into the future and says “The righteous will encircle around me, for you will deal bountifully with me.”

In other words, one day people will surround him, listening to him and then joyfully praising God for his delivering his servant as recounted by the sufferer.

I was struck by how he imagines his present loneliness being replaced by many people rejoicing with him – reminds me of tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

